Claim Service Classification Type Code (Encounter)

SAS Name

The type of service provided to the beneficiary.


This field, in combination with the facility type code (variable called CLM_FAC_TYPE_CD) indicates the “type of bill” for an institutional claim.  Many different types of services can appear on an institutional encounter record, and knowing the type of bill helps to distinguish them.  The type of bill is the concatenation of two variables:  the facility type (CLM_FAC_TYPE_CD) and the service classification type code (CLM_SRVC_CLSFCTN_TYPE_CD). 

Source: Medicare Advantage Organizations (MAOs) 

For facility type code 1 thru 6, and 9:
Code Code value
1 Inpatient
2 Inpatient or Home Health (covered on Part B)
3 Outpatient (or HHA - covered on Part A)
4 Other (Part B) -- (Includes HHA medical and other health services, e.g., SNF osteoporosis-injectable drugs)
5 Intermediate care - level I
6 Intermediate care - level II
7 Subacute Inpatient (revenue code 019X required) (formerly Intermediate care - level III)
8 Swing bed