Claim Facility Type Code (FFS)

SAS Name

The type of facility. 


This field, in combination with the service classification type code (variable called CLM_SRVC_CLSFCTN_TYPE_CD) indicates the “type of bill” for an institutional claim. Many different types of services can be billed on a Part A or Part B institutional claim, and knowing the type of bill helps to distinguish them.

The type of bill is the concatenation of two variables:

-facility type (CLM_FAC_TYPE_CD)

-service classification type (CLM_SRVC_CLSFCTN_TYPE_CD).

Source: NCH

Code Code value
1 Hospital
2 Skilled nursing facility (SNF)
3 Home health agency (HHA)
4 Religious Nonmedical (Hospital) (eff. 8/1/00); prior to 8/00 referenced Christian Science (CS)
6 Intermediate care
7 Clinic or hospital-based renal dialysis facility
8 Special facility or ASC surgery